Clipless Pedal Technique?

san_gabriel

Jul 24, 2006
I've been using Look clipless pedals for six months and I'm way past the "panic at each red light" phase, but I still sometimes miss my first attempt to clip back in when the light turns green. The balance of the pedals make them hang vertical, so my method is to drag my toe to level the pedals and then clip in when they're horizontal, but sometimes my foot slides forward and I fail to lock the cleat into the pedal. I've never gotten any advice about clipping technique, but I've seen cyclists confidently clip in without ever looking down at their feet, so I know I'm missing something. Can any of you experts share your techniques?

I put my bike in a trainer and clipped in and clipped out repeatedly. Soon muscle memory will take over and it becomes natural.

san_gabriel said:
I've been using Look clipless pedals for six months and I'm way past the "panic at each red light" phase, but I still sometimes miss my first attempt to clip back in when the light turns green. The balance of the pedals make them hang vertical, so my method is to drag my toe to level the pedals and then clip in when they're horizontal, but sometimes my foot slides forward and I fail to lock the cleat into the pedal. I've never gotten any advice about clipping technique, but I've seen cyclists confidently clip in without ever looking down at their feet, so I know I'm missing something. Can any of you experts share your techniques?
After awhile, clipping in will be second nature. I've been riding clipless for awhile, and even I look down sometimes while I'm clipping in.

san_gabriel said:
... so my method is to drag my toe to level the pedals and then clip in when they're horizontal, ....