Clips/Clipless pedals?

Bink's Gym

Feb 23, 2006
I am a sport and fitness trainer with cycling clients - some who need to protect their knees. We work on strengthening the knees and hips, but I am interested in the relative advantages of clips and clipless pedals for riding. I have only used the clips. Thanks for advice.
Jean
www.binksgym.com

I think the biggest advantage to clipless pedals over clips/straps is the ability to have a very secure connection that's also easy to get out of. They can either be very good or very bad for your knees depending on how well they're set up for the particular rider.

An important feature of clipless is that different brands have different amounts of "float". That's how much they let your feet rotate during normal pedaling. Some models have adjustable float.

The big problem, as with everything about knee problems, is knowing how much is good for you. I most often hear people say that more float is easier on the knees, but some people may benefit from the stability of a properly adjusted low-float system.

Not to be impolite, but a sport and fitness trainer who works with cyclists and asks a question about advantages of clipless? :confused: :eek:

In any event, it comes down to the ability to have 'float' with some pedal systems (sometimes it is done through the pedals, sometimes through the choice of cleats). Google it and you will come up with oodles of information.

Oh, and my Campagnolo Chorus pedals are best! :p

Well, Powerful Pete (great name!), I am an old trainer and still use clips :( but maybe you can teach an old dog new tricks!
-Jean Binkovitz, CSCS
Bink's Gym
www.binksgym.com