Coaching for South Africas booming cycling population

bikeshop

Nov 26, 2004
This past weekend I took part in an Expert Clinic for USA cycling coaches in Atlanta Georgia, USA. (I am an expert level cycling coach with USA cycling).
At the clinic I had the pleasure of meeting a young college student from South Africa who was telling me that South Africa had a booming cycling scene but an overall small number of qualified coaches to help people properly design training plans and improvement. I was curious if this was the situation. I have been coaching a young lady from Walvis Bay Namibia for a year now and we work extremely well together. I am interested in expanding my coaching business overseas and would love to concentrate on this market if it does truly have the need.
Does anyone there in South Africa have an opinion on this?
If so I would love to hear your insight.
Thanks so much for any help.
David Grigsby
USAC Expert level coach
www.everybodysbikecoach.com

It's true the market is booming here. But as far as online coaching goes...I am not so sure. Maybe try posting on www.thehubsa.co.za

How does online coaching work? What benifits would I get from a personal online coach as compared to say, following a structered eating plan and the Carmicheal DVD's for training and for questions and advice post on forums. Not slagging online personal coaching, just intrigued on how it works etc.

phazer said:
It's true the market is booming here. But as far as online coaching goes...I am not so sure. Maybe try posting on www.thehubsa.co.za

How does online coaching work? What benifits would I get from a personal online coach as compared to say, following a structered eating plan and the Carmicheal DVD's for training and for questions and advice post on forums. Not slagging online personal coaching, just intrigued on how it works etc.
Thanks Phazer. I will try the query on thehubsa.