Coasts & castles

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunk

Apr 29, 2003
I am interested in doing the coasts and castles route but understand it is 200 miles. I can't afford the time off work for that distance. Does anyone have any idea of the mileage on this route from Newcastle to Berwick. I would like to travel circa 100 miles. If anyone has done this route, do you think that distance is feasible in 2 days, what is the terrain like? I have just completed the C2C in 2 and a half days but found that a hard slog (150 miles) but it was chuffin' hot.
Cheers for any advice.
I did post a while ago for advice on doing the coast to coast as I am a bit of a novice so thanks for all who offered advice and encouragement - it was appreciated.

"Skunk" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> I am interested in doing the coasts and castles route but understand it is 200 miles. I can't
> afford the time off work for that distance. Does anyone have any idea of the mileage on this route
> from Newcastle to Berwick. I would like to travel circa 100 miles. If anyone has done this route,
> do you think that distance is feasible in 2 days, what is the terrain like? I have just completed
> the C2C in 2 and a half days but found that a hard slog (150 miles) but it was chuffin' hot.
> Cheers for any advice. I did post a while ago for advice on doing the coast to coast as I am a bit
> of a novice so thanks for all who offered advice and encouragement - it was appreciated.

Haven't done Coast & castles (yet), but I do have the sustrans map. A quick check reveals it to be
92 miles from the centre of Newcastle to Berwick with no significant hills. HTH

Cheers for that. Sounds ideal. I didn't wanna invest in a map until I knew the basics.

Skunk <[email protected]> wrote in news:3f37c0dc$1_2 @news.chariot.net.au:

> I have just completed the C2C in 2 and a half days but found that a hard slog (150 miles) but it