Cold weather clothing options

matseski

Sep 23, 2010
I am new to road cycling and am in need of some more appropriate clothing. I just got my first road bike last week and have put on about 150miles so far. Since it is mid October and in Pennsylvania high temperatures are already hovering below 50, I am focusing on something for the fall/winter. I have been scanning various online sites for different tights, but there are a few options which I would like some opinions on.

full length vs 3/4 length?
maybe 3/4 and leg warmers?
maybe even shorts with leg warmers?

bibs or no bibs?
I am thinking bibs are the way to go, if for nothing else than it would be one less thing to worry about while riding.

Obviously I want something that will improve my comfort while sitting, be wind resistant, keep me the proper temperature, and will stay in place. These will be used primarily for distance and interval training.

I would like to stay under $150 total for pants for the fall/winter.

I am primarily an alpine ski racer, so I have a lot of form fitting options for my upper body and have a few pairs of CW-X 3/4 insulator tights.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

I know what products are avalible, I am just looking for some opinions as to what is the best/most flexible combination of products to fit my needs in my budget. I would love to be able to have short, 3/4 length, full length, and full length with extra insulation/wind protection, but that is out of my budget. Does anyone have any thoughts as to how I can cover my bases with the least discomfort?

I am currently leaning toward the full length tights and then save up some money so I can get shorts and knee warmers in the spring, but I do not know if I would find the full length tights too warm in 50*F weather.

Any thoughts?

Originally Posted by matseski .