cold weather cycling

abbi

Aug 7, 2004
Hey All,

I have started a longer commute this winter (20 miles round trip) and I'm finding the cold weather much harder to take. I have commuted for two winters already in Boston, and ridden through -10 F temps, but the commute was only 7 miles round trip. Now I feel exhausted after my ride and during the last leg of the ride my feet are getting cold dispite mountainbikeing shoes and two layers of socks. I can tell my hands are going to be a problem as we move into the 0-10 degree range. Any suggestions for gloves and shoes (or socks)? Should I just keep at it and I'll get used to it? What about the exhaustion? Any advice would be greatly appriciated. I love to ride and it keeps me relaxed enough not to chuck my students (I'm a teacher) out the window when they get annoying.:D

Abbi

I live over in Leominster, here are a few things that might help you. I got much bigger shoes, so thick socks would fit. Wind proof bib riding pants are a big improvenent ($$$) Any thing made of Polartec will work very well. And, drink plenty of water. I rode out to Greenfield a couple of weeks ago, it was 40 deg. and just plain cold all the way. Have ridden below freezing days, after so many miles, there is nothing that helps, the chill factor makes for a uncomfortable ride no matter what, you are just going to loose heat. Others I'm sure ride in much colder weather than ours.

Louis Garneau wind-tex gloves are fantastic, despite really brisk/cold wind my fingers don't feel a thing. Plus they are not at all bulky, all the dexterity of surgical gloves.

I'm also up here in the Boston area - south of Boston in Easton MA. I ride to Quincy 3-4 days a week.

My issue is shoes - my toes are going to fall off soon. I use mtnbike shoes with two layers of socks but still cold. I also have a wind cover for the shoes (no insulation value) that is supposed to also be water proof.