College Student On A College Budget, Please Help.

LokPot

Oct 9, 2015
Hi, I'm a current college student and I'm looking into getting a bike as my main source of transport to save money on gas. When looking at bike possibilities there are so many different types to choose from it's hard to know what I'll need. I'm torn between a cruiser bike for an easy ride to and from school or a road bike so I can be fast and efficient. Any advice will be appreciated!

What is your commute like and how big is the load you plan to carry.

Become familiar with bicycle maintenance and check the used market. Bike racks at local colleges are loaded with well weathered bicycles. Cycling to class on a shiny new bike may be nice but is far from necessary.

Think about a used steel road bike with a quill stem, and 27 x 1-1/4" tires. That will allow you to raise the bars if need be, and the steel frame and wide tires (which you can run at lower pressure) will smooth out the ride, but still give you a more efficient and aero riding position than a cruiser bike.

While in college, I found a good deal on a used bike on Craigslist. Just from my experience, buying a used bike might allow you to get a premium brand. Make sure the AD comes with an image. Create a sales agreement to be signed by both parties just to be on the safe side. Only buy from the real owner, not the wife selling the husband's bike or vice Versa.

maydog said:
What is your commute like and how big is the load you plan to carry.

Become familiar with bicycle maintenance and check the used market. Bike racks at local colleges are loaded with well weathered bicycles. Cycling to class on a shiny new bike may be nice but is far from necessary.