Comeback from Injuries (mental side of problem)

sooray02

Mar 15, 2004
Hello folks.

Used to race Cat3, and I've gone through some accidents in my life then I chose to give up racing for about three years ago. Haven't ridden past two years, but bought a bike in June and started riding again by myself. Now, I got bored riding by myself, so I started riding with a group, and now, amazingly, I can sort of keep up with the fast guys. Well, I should say I hung on to those guys.

Nonetheless, I am too scared to draft, or make hard turns. I get yoyo-ed. I waste energy because I don't draft properly. I break when I don't have to. I know that these things take times but I think this is more of a head problem. Is there anyway to improve or get rid of my.. problems?

Any advices would be appreciated.

You think too much. Just ride and let happen what happens. Your experience might help you be aware of what to look for when riding behind somebody.

Crazymike said:
You think too much. Just ride and let happen what happens. Your experience might help you be aware of what to look for when riding behind somebody.

+1 :)

I agree, but at the same time still struggle with descending. In 2007 I had a 40 mph crash coming off a mountiain descent that did a lot of physical and gear damage, but the greatest damage was mental.

I am still not over it yet and went from the fastest descender of my group to now the slowest, but I have improved a little each year.

As Mike stated my problem is I put too much thought into it even if I tell myself I am going to have a fast day descending that means I am preparing for it mentally and I should not even be thinking about even if I am trying to motivate myself because I am highlighting the issue. When the moment comes for the descent my overthinking and being cautious actually makes me even more unpredictable and shakey. The calmer and less tense I am obviously makes for a much more controlled and smooth descent.