Comfortable road bike seat for a woman?

Discussion in 'The Bike Cafe' started by Brianstoiber, Jun 28, 2014.

1. Brianstoiber

Brianstoiber New Member

I have been riding for about 13 years and have never had a problem with my seats. My wife got a bike 2 years ago and has only been out maybe 10-15 times. We went on a ride yeaterday (first for her in over a year) and she is all bruised down there. She is wearing padded shorts and is on a standard road seat (narrow and hard). She didn't have this problem the last 2 years but after just one ride she is having a hard time sitting down comfortably on anything.

Are there any women out there, or any men that can ask their significant others, friends or anyone else for a very comfortable padded road seat for her bike?

Tags:

2. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

FWIW. The "standard" BROOKS B17 is much w-i-d-e-r than most "plastic" saddles ...

And, it is said to be the preferred saddle for "long distance tourists" ...

People who say they have tried a Brooks-or-equivalent saddle and found them to be excrutiatingly uncomfortable probably did NOT lower the seatpost to accommodate the greater rail-to-top-of-the-saddle dimension OR they are straddling the nose of the saddle rather than sitting on the back of the saddle ...

• I believe that the LATTER rider position where the nose is being straddled is also a reason that some people have found it difficult to find a comfortable saddle that is, I am amazed when the rear edge of the saddle of any rider(s) in front of me is visible when any of those riders is seated!!!

The Brooks B67 is even wider than a "standard" B17 and weighs-a-ton ...

The Brooks Professional is NOT as wide as the "standard" B17.