Comfortable saddle

Brent17

Aug 9, 2019
I am new to cycling and I have major problems with the saddle on my Giant Contend 3.
My question is what gel pad or saddle is the most comfortable to use?

I am not an experienced rider and am just beginning (20 miles at a time is a major event for me at this moment).

Any help would be appreciated!

This is very difficult to answer as our anatomy is unique to each of us. I've been cycling all my life and I'm 64, but The biggest fatigue that I suffer is pain in the backside, which is debilitating. I think that it helps to relieve the pressure every now and then, so when gliding down hill, I shift over to the side of the saddle to let the blood flow around the relevant area.

I have never found gel saddles to be any good as the gel pad itself tends to sit proud and digs in me. Likewise saddles with a cut out have never worked for me because the edge of the cutout digs in me. Are you wearing proper cycling padded shorts? Leaving your underwear off helps too as any seams will dig into you.

What we need is a club which buys a few saddles and allows members to try each one and see what is best.

There is no good answer since everyone varies in anatomy. Trial and error is the only way to know. That being said I have had good luck with the Terry saddles. I never liked gel saddles.

Agreed there is no good answer. What you have to do first is measure your sit bone distance, most bike shops should have this ability, or you can sit on a block of styrofoam or memory foam in a lean position similar to riding your bike, sit for about a minute naked, do not take pictures of yourself doing this, and let your entire body weight push into the foam, when you get off the block there should be two indentations, those are where your sit bones dented the foam, measure from the center of one indentation to the other in CM's and write that down, then look for a saddle with that width. This will limit the hunting dramatically.