Communication on the road!

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Shotokan War

Hello there,

I am a product design student and have been given a brief to design a 'short range communication
product'. We are to try and identify situations with specific groups of users where it might be
advantageous to have a bespoke product to help relay particular pieces of information between
interested parties. This may be to augment simply talking to each other, or may be in situations
where it is not possible to talk to each other. For example, SCUBA divers have a series of hand
signals that they use to communicate specific pieces of information "are you ok?", "I am running
low on air" etc. Even in this situation, it may be advantageous to have something additional to
help get the other person's attention in the first place (given that they will not always be
looking at one another).

I thought that cyclists might be a good group of people who could benefit from a new type of
communication device. If you could take a few moments to jot down your thoughts in repsonse to some
of the questions below, or add any other thoughts you have, it may help my project get off to a
flying start. Thanks in advance.

I realise that there are radio systems for people to talk to one another, but could there be other
forms of comms that might be helpful?

Are there situations where pressing a button on a device you hold, can let someone know a specific
piece of info without talking to them (or perhaps broadcasting to others??).

Would it be useful to be able to add information to that which is spoken by the use of visual cues
(lights for example) or other cues (heat, vibration etc.).

Have you ever been in a situation where you wanted to gesticulate wildly?

What annoys you about current forms of comunication systems?

Have you ever been in a situation where you wanted to gesticulate wildly?

What annoys you about current forms of comunication systems? [/B][/QUOTE]