Commuter Bicycle Design-What Do You Look For

matthai5

Jan 31, 2010
I'm a Junior industrial design student and am beginning work on a commuter bicycle project. I am now in the research stage and would appreciate any input you could provide. If you have the time please answer the following questions. I have provided two sections, one quick section and one advanced section if you have some time to kill.

Basic Questions:

1.Age(if you don't mind providing):

2.Gender:

3.Location(Not Required)

4.Where do you commute to?

5. How many days a week do you commute?

6.What distance do you travel on a daily basis?

7.Do you live in an city or rural environment?

8.What kind of bike do you commute on?

9. Is storage a problem?

10.Would you benefit from a bicycle that could fold for storage/easy transport?

Advance QuestionsComplete if you have time.

1.What are the strengths and weaknesses of your current commuter.

2.What do you look for in a commuter bicycle?

3.How important is the weight of the bicycle?

4.What size tires do you ride?

5.If commuting on a road bicycle, how often do you ride in the drops.

6.How much would you spend on a bicycle for commuting?
Less than $500 Less than$1000 More than $1000

7. Since bike security is a big concern do you feel that an integrated bike lock would be helpful?

8. Do you prefer a single speed or a multi-geared bike?

9.Do you use bike specific shoes and pedals/cages or flat pedals?

10.Would integrated bike lights be a good addition to a commuter bike?

Thank-You for your time and your input is appreciated.