Commuting a good way to get fit ?

Discussion in 'UK and Europe' started by John Scott, May 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. John Scott

John Scott Guest

I have been cycling for 2 yrs now and have slowly got fitter and fitter by riding 3 evenings a
    week(about 15-20 miles a time) and riding 30-40 miles a weekend. Now recently I have started riding
    to and from work, 10 miles each way, 20 a day, 3-4 days a week, replacing the evening rides. Now I
    do tend to go flat out for the 10 miles to and from work, we do have showers at the office.

Do you think I will be able to maintain my fitness progress just commuting instead of my evening
    rides ?Bearing in mind that I'm replacing 15-20 mile rides with 2x10 mile rides.

Thanks, John

Tags:

2. SMH

SMH New Member

If you only ever stick to the same routine your fitness will tend to level off rather than progressing. Your body becomes efficient at doing the same thing over and over, and you're not asking your body to do any more than it's used to doing. If you want to progress rather than maintain you need to vary your programme a bit and demand a little bit more from your body. E.g a couple of journeys a week, try and do sprints where you are pushing your body hard for short periods of time, then recover, repeat, etc
    But hey, riding 5+ days a week is commendable regardless!

3. James Annan

James Annan Guest

John Scott wrote:
    > I have been cycling for 2 yrs now and have slowly got fitter and fitter by riding 3 evenings a
    > week(about 15-20 miles a time) and riding 30-40 miles a weekend. Now recently I have started
    > riding to and from work, 10 miles each way, 20 a day, 3-4 days a week, replacing the evening
    > rides. Now I do tend to go flat out for the 10 miles to and from work, we do have showers at
    > the office.
    >
    > Do you think I will be able to maintain my fitness progress just commuting instead of my evening