Commuting Daily On A Bike - What Are You Main Problems / Biggest Bug Bearers?

dshardpolerwas

Jul 1, 2015
Hey All,

Im in my final year at Uni doing Transport Design, and on with my major project, with the idea of creating a few concepts in the next couple of weeks.

One of my projects is to improve the daily commute for cyclists, and my question really, is what problems / issues occur?

I've been out on my bicycle today, and nearly got ran off the road a few times, especially by buses. I can imagine in a more urban environment like this,
that this is a bigger problem? That and the weather are the biggest issues that spring to mind?

If you could share some of your issues / problems with cycling, it would be great!

Drivers of automobiles that fall into one or more of the following categories... (no particular order)

Impatient
Clueless
Lazy
Aggressive
Distracted

My biggest problem has always been motorists, second would be improperly kept road surfaces.

I think we are at the point now where we have decades of experience and data from paved roads and building..... there is no excuse to have such poor planning and such poor motorist traffic safety & law fidelity let alone etiquette.

My bugbears?

1) Crappy bike "facilities" i.e. bike lanes that are just the door zone area of parked cars repainted, Sharrows painted far to the right etc.
2) Drivers that pass to closely, apparently as punishment for my using the road.
3) Lack of Idaho stop and an equivalent for stop lights
4) Cyclists with lights that are way too bright.
5) Stop lights that lack sensors for bikes.

Of the preventable ones:
Uphill traffic light with stop line too far from actual junction. This situation needs an advanced stop line.
Curbs at road/bikepath junctions. Where the bikepath slips off, the lowered curb should be across, not along the bikelane
Lamp-posts in the middle of bikepath.

From an infrastructure standpoint, I would say lack of formal bike lanes.