Compatibility of XT shifter with Tiagra C/set and mech

theboykidney

Jan 24, 2010
Hi everybody,
I'm a first time bike builder and Im down to what i hope is my last big problem.
Im building a flat barred road bike. I have Tiagra crankset (double) and Tiagra front derailleur. Problem is I have XT shifters so the pull ratio is all wrong.
Ideally I'd like to keep the shifters so it means Im after a new front derailleur thats compatible with XT shifters.
Does anyone know if such a thing exists?
Cheers,
TBK

theboykidney said:
I'm a first time bike builder and Im down to what i hope is my last big problem.
Im building a flat barred road bike. I have Tiagra crankset (double) and Tiagra front derailleur. Problem is I have XT shifters so the pull ratio is all wrong.
Ideally I'd like to keep the shifters so it means Im after a new front derailleur thats compatible with XT shifters.
The 9-speed XT shifters will work with any 8-or-9-speed Shimano rear derailleur ... and, the 8-speed XT shifters will work with any 8-or-9-speed Shimano rear derailleur.

I have substituted XT-and-XTR rear derailleurs for Shimano Ultegra-and-105 9-speed rear derailleurs without noticing any difference in the indexing.

In the past, I have mismatched a 9-speed 105 triple-compatible shifter with an 8-speed XT front derailleur & a double crankset on an otherwise 9-speed Shimano drivetrain ... this probably worked because of the extra indexing indent in the left shifter allowed the front derailleur to be moved the necessary extra distance (if any) between the two chainrings.

Because the XT shifter is triple-compatible, you should theoretically be able to use it with your Tiagra front derailleur on a double crankset BECAUSE the extra indent should allow you to move the derailleur any extra distance that may be needed.

A lot of Shimano stuff works with stuff that the engineers don't want you to mismatch ...