Complete beginner and some questions...

claroj

Aug 13, 2004
Hi

Hope you don't mind me joining you, I am a complete beginner at cycling and feel a bit daft posting on here cos I am just using cycling to try and lose weight (but am very much enjoying it!)

I have a few questions:

- can you really lose weight cycling? I feel a lot fitter but not sure whether it is affecting my weight. I am 3 stone overweight and recovering from a c'section (that's why i started cycling cos i can't do any impact sports yet). I have a mountain bike and am doing an hour's ride 3 or 4 times a week but really pushing myself! Do you think this will help my weight loss (am on a diet aswell!)

- Is it just me or do all women cyclists have permanently sore nether regions? I feel bruised and somedays can't sit down - my husband keeps saying he never feels like that when he's been on a bike? Is this a woman thing?

- I have a cheap mountain bike (£150 - 4 yrs ago), would a more expensive bike be more comfortable or is it just something you have to get used to?
Are there any tips for protecting my 'undercarriage' (lol!)? creams/padding?
Might me being so overweight be making it worse?

Thanks very much for any advice

Hi there, welcome to the world of cycling - no reason to feel daft - there are lots of cyclists out there who do it for just the pleasure and fitness aspects.