Complete Newbie! Help with Speeds?

manick0de

Oct 13, 2005
Sorry if this is obvious but I don't have a clue? My last bike only had a few gears.:confused:

I've bought a bike and in couple of weeks am going for my first off road ride. I've taken it out once briefly to get familiar with it and it went OK, i'm going for a load more rides before I take it off road but I'm overwhelmed by the choice of speeds.

On the left hand side there's 1, 2, 3. and on the right hand side there's 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. What do they mean, how do move through speeds correctly?
I'm really confused!

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

manick0de said:
Sorry if this is obvious but I don't have a clue? My last bike only had a few gears.:confused:

I've bought a bike and in couple of weeks am going for my first off road ride. I've taken it out once briefly to get familiar with it and it went OK, i'm going for a load more rides before I take it off road but I'm overwhelmed by the choice of speeds.

On the left hand side there's 1, 2, 3. and on the right hand side there's 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. What do they mean, how do move through speeds correctly?
I'm really confused!

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
1,2 and 3 on the left are your chainrings. 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 and 8 on the right are the sprockets on the rear wheel.
In general, changing from one ring to another makes a large difference, changing from one sprocket to another makes a small one.
If you have not used derailieurs before, remember to keep pedaling whilest you are making the change. Avoid extreme crossovers, do not attempt to use the largest ring with the largest sprocket, or the smallest ring with the smallest sprocket. Do use all the gears, there is no reason to make hard work of hills and head-winds by staying on the big ring all the time. Learn to spin fast in low gears.
Practice on a quiet bit of road until you get the hang of it.

manick0de-

So you have a 24 Speed bike - I have a Trek 820 with 21