Complete newbie needs some help

maxwolfie

May 22, 2007
Hi, I came across this forum from a google search, looks like a pretty good MTB community. So hi :)

Anyways getting to the point: I'm looking to buy a good MTB in Sydney but have not much of an idea as to what brand or model. I would like a solid all-rounder, and something that is pretty sturdy for small jumps and fooling around in the street. I used to have a full chromoly BMX that I took down to Bass Hill jumps however it seems as though most bikes these days are made of alloy only.

I have been to the 4 main bike shops in North Parramatta - Bike Barn, Bikes R Us, Pedals Plus & Blackmans.

The brands that I am interested in are Giant and Learsport. There are others on offer, such as Advanti and some other brands, but I have not heard much about them and build quality seems to be a little suss.

In regards to specific models, the Giant Boulder and Learsport TR3270 are within my price range (Up to $500, there are some 3270's on special for $525.....) The Boulder is only $425

The man at Pedals Plus seemed quite honest and cluey, which is why I am looking into Learsport further. Where are they made? What's the quality like? Has anyone had any experience with the TR3270, or can anyone recommend something different?

Help me decide on a brand, model and where to buy as I have no idea. I already have a helmet

TR3270.jpg

^^ TR3270

boulder.jpg

^^ Giant boulder

The frame should have a sticker as to where made.
Giant is a Taiwanese company but check the frame anyway as at this price point you never know.
Unfortunately you won't get anything for $500 Australian dollars that will handle much jumping.
I would look for the strongest wheels followed by the strongest fork as these will probably fail first. Look for a casette type rear hub rather than a spin on cluster as this places the bearings further apart and creates a stronger hub. I have seen many axles bend in spin ons.