Complete NOOB needs some advice.

vbgagnon

Mar 27, 2007
Hi guys, I have to say that there is a weath of kwnoledge here. Despite what I've read I can't seem to find the info I need. So here goes.

I've got an older Jamis Cross Country, when I got it I considered it a MT bike, but its nothing compared to what is considered a MT bike by todays standards. Its got knobby tires, but they are small knobs, no suspension components toe clips and bar ends. I got this bike when I was 13ish, and I'm 26 now, I haven't touched it in about 7 years but want to get back into riding.

The main reason I want to get back into cycling is to get back into shape, I've tried running but my shins just cannot take the pounding of running anymore.

So I guess my questions would be pretty basic. How do I setup to get a comfy ride of my bike, I'll be doing most of my riding onroad and am unsure what my leg reach should be and how high my bars should be.

I know my questions are pretty vague, but I haven't riddin in a long time and when I did ride it was as a kid not to get in shape but to get around. I evenutally want to get a road bike, but to get myslef started I would really like to use my old bike.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Ben

xxamr_corpxx said:
Firstly, I'm guessing you've grown a bit since you were 13. Does it still fit you?
How would I know if it still fits? I'm telling you I'm a complete noob. The tires are 26 x 1.5

I'm now 5'8", I feel like I know abosolutly nothing AND I DON"T LIKE IT!

Congrats on your choice to get into shape and to do it on a bicycle.