Completely new, I know NOTHING. Can you spec me a ballpark bike?

Logic Zero

Oct 21, 2007
Hi guys. I'm completely new to road cycling, I am very fluent on mountain bikes and ride every day but have not taken an interest in road riding till now. Anyways I am 6'2", fairly lean (63kg) and (more importantly I guess) I have £500/~$900 to spend. I would like something that is not too beginner and not too hardcore. Basically I need something that will last even when I get much more serious.

If a small list of bikes that are recommended is compiled I would be MOST grateful. :)

I already have drinks bottles + helmet etc

Logic Zero said:
Hi guys. I'm completely new to road cycling, I am very fluent on mountain bikes and ride every day but have not taken an interest in road riding till now. Anyways I am 6'2", fairly lean (63kg) and (more importantly I guess) I have £500/~$900 to spend. I would like something that is not too beginner and not too hardcore. Basically I need something that will last even when I get much more serious.

If a small list of bikes that are recommended is compiled I would be MOST grateful. :)

Perhaps, not the best frame color (I think that I actually like the bike's proletarian color), but here's bike you can live with for years/decades -- an in-stock, 2007 model should cost about 20-to-25% less (perhaps, about £450 before taxes), and a 2006 model would be about 40% less than retail -- why settle for less than Campagnolo shifters?:

http://bianchiusa.com/07_eros.html

a4098bf33e.png

Style = 30spd Road
Sizes = 49, 51, 53, 55, 57, 59, 61, 63cm
Colors = Gang Green
Frames = Reynolds 631, sloping top tube, rack mounts
Fork = Bianchi carbon, alloy steerer

Retail Price = $1299.99

e5d70a0fd9.png

Headset = VP AheadSet, 1-1/8" threadless
Handlebar = Deda Elementi Piega
Stem = Bianchi Componenti
Brakes/Levers = Campagnolo Mirage brakes / Mirage ErgoPower levers
Crankset = Sugino RD 5000T, 30/39/52T
Bottom Bracket = Cartridge
Chain = KMC