Computer's with Cadence function (newbie question)

dommyk

Aug 11, 2007
Hi all,

Im new to cycling, road bikes to be specific. Im interested in purchasing a cycle computer with the cadence feature.

After much searching on torpedo7 and ebay I am still confused about what I get when I buy a computer with cadence. Does it come with the computer as a package i.e. looking at the Sigma 1606 L - http://www.torpedo7.com.au/products/SMCUCNN6L

Or do I have to buy a cadence kit ontop of the computer itself. I dont really want to spend that much money on the computer (as im still new to cycling) I'm looking around the $50 mark. If not ill just stick to the basic computers.

Also do you guys think wireless is any good? is worth the money? As I see its around $100+ (or more if a cadence kit is also needed)

Thanks! this site is great and cycling is even better :) any feedback or advice would be greatly appreciated!

I have an old cateye astrale it has cadence and I use this feature every time I ride. Wireless is easier to install i.e. no wires. A wired computer only has one battery.
Ive had my computer on three bikes over 14 years.
My advice:-
* If you can afford it get one with heart rate aswell as cadence, these will all most likely be wireless
* If you don't go the heart rate option and want years of trouble free service and dont mind a bit of fiddleing just go wired it will be cheaper
* If you wish to use he same speedo on multiple bikes go wireless and then buy a few extra sensors.

Good luck

Dean Thomas said:
I have an old cateye astrale it has cadence and I use this feature every time I ride. Wireless is easier to install i.e. no wires. A wired computer only has one battery.
Ive had my computer on three bikes over 14 years.
My advice:-
* If you can afford it get one with heart rate aswell as cadence, these will all most likely be wireless