Computrainer Question

sub55

Sep 18, 2003
If you don't add the weight of the bike to your weight when entering that value - what is the end result? Are watts under reported or over reported? My sense is that time and speed will remain the same but watts will be under reported if you just report/enter your body weight.

Originally posted by sub55
If you don't add the weight of the bike to your weight when entering that value - what is the end result? Are watts under reported or over reported? My sense is that time and speed will remain the same but watts will be under reported if you just report/enter your body weight.

Hi there. I'm not an expert but, based on my use of the CT for the past year, I believe you will find Watts to be correctly reported but your speed will be higher and time lower than one would expect when adding bike weight.

I add 20 lbs or 9kg all the time and slog up the hills as a result!

Regards,
Rick

do you mean your speed would be higher and time lower if you DON"T add the weight of the bike?

Originally posted by sub55
do you mean your speed would be higher and time lower if you DON"T add the weight of the bike?

Yes - that's correct. My understanding is that power is calculated from rear wheel speed and the resistance applied to the load generator - thus Watts are always "correct" (within the limitations of the CT). If one decides to "cheat" by not adding a bike weight or entering a lower body weight then the software assumes you are more powerful per net kg. This will make you faster on the uphills for sure. I'm not sure of the algorithm for the flats so I can't say if you will be faster there. The drag calculation (CdA) may based on height alone or it may be a combination of height and weight.

If you'd like to get an anwer straight from CT, I would suggest contacting: [email protected]

As I mentioned before, I just add 9kg all the time. I do find the CT speed to be a tad slower than I expect outdoors but really what does that matter?