Controlling HR while running

xraptorx

Jun 7, 2003
I am new to Tri training - especially the running and swimming.
I have been working to build my base endurance on the run by running for an hour each day and trying to stay at 75% Max HR.

Today I went for a run and after 15 minutes or so my HR was warmed up and at 70%. After 25 mins I am at 75% and still at the same slow (very slow) pace. Once I go over 30 mins of jogging, my HR hit 85 and finally started topping out at 90% Max. I truly could not slow down any further. I was basically walking at the pace I was doing and saw my energy disappear at that anerobic pace. But I stuck it out for 1 hour.

My question is why can't I keep my HR at 75% and what might have caused it to skyrocket?
I am now training in a tropical climate and not used to that - been living in Northern California up until a few days ago. Could the heat and humidity do this to me?

Thanks

xraptorx,

Firstly, are you sure that you are at 90% of MHR? How did you determine your MHR? For me, the 220-age formula is very inaccurate. It gives me an MHR of 185, when my MHR is actually over 200. This is important because when I am running at a HR of 170, I am not doing 92% as the 220-age formula would suggest, but really just 85%.

How do you feel you are going after the 30 minutes when your heart rate is doing supposedly 90% MHR? If you do not feel like you are pushing yourself, and could run at this pace for 60-90 minutes fairly comfortably, then don't worry. You are most likely doing 80 to 85%.

Also, how

(Whoops...see previous post)

Also, you are new to running, so you will find your heart rate will steadily drop over time. Keep a record of average heart rate for your runs, and you will see a downward trend. (Or else you will see your times drop for the same heart rate) This can be a great motivator. Hot humid climates will also raise you heart rate as your body works harder to sweat.

Regards,
Harrow.

Thanks Harrow,