Crank Bros.

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by J Switzer, Mar 1, 2004.

1. J Switzer

J Switzer Guest

I am in the process of purchasing a new bike, and I think I am going clipless. I picked up some
    Pearl Izumi Bolder shoes, and I thinking about grabbing some Crank Bros. Mallet pedals this week.
    Since I am new to the clipless riding - a platform/clip hybrid seems like a good start. Does anybody
    have any experience with these pedals? I would like to read some cheers or jeers on the Crank Bros.
    Oh - BTW I am open to any other brand of pedal you might recommend.

Thanks

J

Tags:

2. ireman_1

ireman_1 New Member

>Originally posted by J Switzer [/i]
    >I am in the process of purchasing a new bike, and I think I am >going clipless. I picked up some
    >Pearl Izumi Bolder shoes, and I thinking about grabbing some >Crank Bros. Mallet pedals this week.
    >Since I am new to the clipless riding - a platform/clip hybrid >seems like a good start. Does anybody
    >have any experience with these pedals? I would like to read >some cheers or jeers on the Crank Bros.
    >Oh - BTW I am open to any other brand of pedal you might >recommend.

>Thanks

>J

I've been abusing my "new" (two months?) Crank brother mallets for a few rides and have really appreciated their "mud proof" design up here in the land of eternal wettness. They start a bit tight, but break-in quickly and have worked flawlessly since that first ride. I love them compared to the last pair of clip-in pedals I had (shimano). I figured I'd run them with the larger of the two traction plates they come with, but have found the shorter of the two is more than plenty for most of the time. You should enjoy them. Have fun.

K.

3. Chris

Chris Guest

"J Switzer" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > I am in the process of purchasing a new bike, and I think I am going clipless. I picked up some