Crank Brothers Mallet C vs Time Z

JTJohnson17

Jul 28, 2003
I'm looking at the Crank brothers Mallet C and the Time Z and Time Z Control pedals. Theses are going to be the first clipless pedals I've ever had. I'm looking for people that have ridden one or the other or both, and what they like and disliked about them. Thanks

Jeremy

I currently ride on Eggbeaters S. They are my first set of clipless pedals. I love them, after I got over the stopping and falling over part. I wish that I had waited for the Mallet C to come out before I bought what I did. The look like the best of both worlds to me. The Eggbeaters that I have feel great when I am clipped in, but if I need to clip out and ride on the pedal in a technical section, well it does not work, the clips roll under my foot and I either end up clipped in or falling off of the pedal. My opion, go for the Mallet C, I do not think that you will be disappointed. As for the Time Z control, I have no experience with them. Good luck.

I've got the Z Pedals. They are sweet, but they're not perfect. The platform area isn't exactly flat and offers poor traction of you're not wearing shoes with really burly tread. I'd love to give the mallets a try. They look like they'd be even better than the Times which are the awesome. No wussy superlight pedals for me :D

Originally posted by cotty