Crank Brothers?

RedRider2009

Nov 24, 2007
Hi, I have never used any type of clip in pedals before, I have been looking around online and the Crank Brothers pedals seem to be nice with the 4-way entry business, are they good? I have mostly been looking at the Quattro SL, Candy C, and Eggbeater C. Do you have any suggestions? I am also noticing that there is another type of eggbeaters and candy with "SL" rather than "C", what does that mean?

RedRider2009 said:
Hi, I have never used any type of clip in pedals before, I have been looking around online and the Crank Brothers pedals seem to be nice with the 4-way entry business, are they good? I have mostly been looking at the Quattro SL, Candy C, and Eggbeater C. Do you have any suggestions? I am also noticing that there is another type of eggbeaters and candy with "SL" rather than "C", what does that mean?
The C is for chromoly and the SL model is stainless steel. I have Candy C's on my MTB and Eggbeaters (C) on my cross bike. Nice design for for mud and snow, and a simple and easy design. I'm strongly considering going full crank bros on all my bikes (two road bikes currently speedplay).

What are advantages of stainless steel vs chromoly? No Rust? I would be using them for road biking...thanks

PeterF said:
I'm strongly considering going full crank bros on all my bikes (two road bikes currently speedplay).

I did this last year. I was going to run eggbeaters on my mtb's and quattros on my road bikes. I got a set of the quattros and found I didn't really use the platform anyway, and more importantly found limiting a 4 sided entry mechanism to 2 sided entry wasn't ideal. So I just put eggbeaters across all my bikes (mtb+road), and are using the quattros on my track bike.

I'm very happy with the choice, and have no regrets at all, in fact it's been all positives with the exception of limited supply of cleats and cleat accessories in Australia.

--brett

RedRider2009 said: