Crank lengths

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Ben Wight

I haven't seen this being discussed much, and haven't been able to find much info at all from
web searches.

I currently am using a 48 tooth chain ring with 175mm cranks, and have been on the search for at
least 180mm crank and 52 tooth chain ring combo for my MTB. Local bike shops look at me strange when
i ask them about 180 or above cranks, and all tell me that 175 is the biggest normal size.

I am relatively tall, about 6'1", and think I could easily push a 180 or higher crank, with the only
problem I've heard about being knee soreness and cadence drop.

I dont think I will have knee problems, as I have been using the 175mm crank for about 13 years,
(since I was 10), and never had any knee probs then, so using the logic that I am much taller now, a
bigger crank should be no probs.

I also feel that the extra torque available from the bigger crank will let me spin a bigger chain
wheel with the same effort.

1. So my questions are, does anyone see any flaws in my pretty simple theory.
2. Why isn't it more common to see larger cranks for taller riders? Obviously, if you have a
cadence drop, but you are putting in more torque, then if you gear the bike correctly, it should
be faster.

Ben Wight

Ben Wight wrote:

> I am relatively tall, about 6'1", and think I could easily push a 180 or higher crank,

Sure you could, but is there anything to gain??

> I also feel that the extra torque available from the bigger crank will let me spin a bigger chain
> wheel with the same effort.

Again, yes, but at a lower speed. No real gain.

> 2. Why isn't it more common to see larger cranks for taller riders?

Because it makes little difference. A _very_ tall rider might gain, but you are not that far
from the mean.

> Obviously, if you have a cadence drop, but you are putting in more torque, then if you gear the
> bike correctly, it should be faster.