Crazy UCI rule: no move-ups after track DQ


New Member
Nov 9, 2009
When a rider is disqualified (whether for doping or any other reason), you'd expect the other riders to move up in rank---right? Wrong! Under UCI Cycling Regulation 12.1.022, there are no "move-ups" in track competitions. I'm an attorney interested in talking to anybody out there who (1) has been affected by this rule, (2) knows of instances in which the rule has been ignored or inconsistently applied, (3) has any insights on how to challenge it, or (4) has any idea why it exists. Your anonymity will be preserved (or not, depending on what you want.) Thanks all!
Steve Hirsch
Keker & Van Nest LLP
San Francisco, CA
(415) 668-1645

Similar threads