Critique my position - race photos

donm

Oct 30, 2006
Hi guys, I'm new to time trialling (I usually race duathlons) and below is a link to some pictures from my first race. I know my head position is less than ideal in one of the pics, but I was looking down at my PT display!

I'd be grateful for any tips on improving my position. I've found that I've adapted to the point where my power output in my current position is approximately the same (maybe 5W lower) than my output in a road position on the hoods. I'm planning to work gradually on lowering the front end, and have removed one spacer from the setup you see in the pictures, with no loss in power.

Thanks,
Don.

http://s57.photobucket.com/albums/g217/donm79/

I don't have any real constructive criticism--your back could be flatter, but I know from personal experience that is hard to do.

However, I am curious: How tall are you, and what size planet X is that?

Thanks,
John

JohnMeyers said:
I don't have any real constructive criticism--your back could be flatter, but I know from personal experience that is hard to do.

However, I am curious: How tall are you, and what size planet X is that?

Thanks,
John
A touch over 6' and it's an M.

donm said:
A touch over 6' and it's an M.
Dont arch your back, rotate in the hips will flatten your back. stretch every chance you can (excpet maybe right before getting on the bike, but definatelt after and at night). Maybe, just maybe make your arms more 90 degrees and less superman, but if itc comfortable, by all means go for it. It really seems your darn close-the rest will have to come from flexibility and testing (as you know).

Also-you may know this too, but an aero helmet is key and last, Wheelbuilder sells a snap on disc wheel cover for wheels with powertaps.

Ray