Custom frame 52 seat/57 top

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by aspollock, Mar 5, 2004.

1. aspollock

aspollock New Member

Some Advice.

I started riding a year ago after a 40 year break (I'm 54). I got a steel cyclocross bike for navigating the potholed streets of San Francisco (bike-friendly if you don't count homocidal motorists). After a year, feeling that top tube was much too short (with a 12 cm stem). I got a fitting at a pro shop and was told that a 52 cm seat tube and 57 cm top tube was what I needed (legs too short but they do rach the ground).....clearly in custom frame geometry territory. Using the conventional formulas also suggests a 52 seat and at least 57 top tubes.

I'm looking for a road bike that fits. I ride 75 miles a week in the AMs before work, along the ocean-- (salt/sand etc), and it is often moist (between October and April) here.

I test rode several bikes including a stock steel Mondonico and a few stock SEVENs, expensive but felt great, as nice as the steel bike. Of course the stock bikes didn't fit correctly. I borrowed an Aluminium and Carbon bike from friends and did not like the feel.

Any suggestions for a frame that far from stock size? Is the (only slightly) higher cost of Ti for a custom frame worth it? Any suggstions for frame builders?

Sandy

Tags:

2. dorian

dorian New Member

You can go custom with Seven, Independent Fabrication, Moots, Serotta, and at least some of the Lemond models. I don't know of any custom aluminum builders, but there's gotta be one or two. Steel may still be a viable option. Independent Fabrication seals all their tubes. Only the seat tube (at the top only), bottom bracket and head tube are not sealed. With a little extra care the frame should stay nice, but ti would be a lot easier to (not) deal with. With your measurements it sounds like you'll get a much better fit with a custom geometry which should also give you better handling and ride characteristics.

3. bike_wingnut