Cycle Shoes / Numb Feet

Discussion in 'Triathlon' started by Dambox, Apr 23, 2003.

1. Dambox

Dambox Guest

Hi

Advice please. I have been doing tris for 3-4 years with no previous cycling history. I have had
    about 3 pairs of cycling shoes, and yet to find a pair that I can honestly say fit comfortably.
    Current shoes are Carnac.

If I cycle for > 10-15km, I get numb toes, and suffer as a result when I start the run. I am also
    get cramp occaisionally which may also be attributed to the shoes.

My questions are:

1. Is this expected ?
    2. Have others experienced this ?
    3. Any recommendations on shoes to try that may have a little more roon at the front of the shoe
    4. I use Look cleats - would SPD be better - is this a factor ?

I am looking to buy again, so welcome feedback.

Thanks.
    --------------
    David, England

Tags:

2. Not all Carnac shoes have roomy toe boxes. Be sure the model you're wearing is one of the ones
    that's room at the front.

You don't talk about your bicycle training - if you aren't putting in enough time on the bike you
    may not have adapted yourself to cycling in which case no shoe will solve your problem.

Have you experimented with fit issues on the bike? It's possible that moving your cleat further
    forward, which will move your foot further back, will solve the problem. You should also investigate
    your saddle to spindle position. In addition, numbness can be caused by problems with the spine, not
    just with the area that feels numb, so keep that in mind as well (although my guess is that this is
    not your problem based on what you've said so far).

If the shoe has a firm sole, as most high quality road shoes do, the type of cleat shouldn't matter
    unless you have more or less float than you need.

Almost last but not least, you might want to see a podiatrist or at least try something slightly