Cycling Across America :D

worldtourjon

Apr 7, 2010
Hi
Newbie here so I don't even know if this is the right place to be. I'm 22 and have been saving for 2 years working for satan in a call centre to save for a round the world trip. I'm going to be away for about 12 months in total, traveling through Asia and oz etc first. The my plan is to land in LA around June 2011. During the time I am away I will be doing a 3 week cycle tour up Vietnam Siagon to Hanoi and am hoping to keep fit running and maybe cycling where I can. My physical condition I'll come onto in a bit.

The plan basically is to land in LA see the sights and head up the west coast by coach or similar travel and hit san francisco where I'll have a look around and buy my bike and gear. First hurdle will be downsizing all my travelling kit to streamline for the long haul so any advice on shipping back to the UK would be AWESOME...but that's a side note.

I'll then by cycling from San Francisco to the east coast. My route yet is to be decided obviously I planned this due to the TransAM but I've heard various mixed reviews about how it's not the best route etc. Any advice on the route or how to go about planning my route would be greatly appreciated. My thought at the minute was to by the TransAM map (although being in UK I'm probably going to get fleeced on price for this think its about £100 to buy it). I don't know how comprehensive or useful this is so again any advice on this or alternatives would be greatly appreciated.