Cycling and drug use...

hodagbiker

May 18, 2003
I just wanted to get a discussion going on cycling and drug use, and see what the rest of you think about it. It seems so common among the peleton today, that I'm wondering if the penalties are too weak for proven users. I am a school teacher, and I see a drastic decrease in students (and adults) taking responsibility for their actions...it's always someone else's fault. I am for a lifetime ban from professional cycling if caught using drugs. I think this is the only way to make the sport clean. What do the rest of you think?

I disagree with the life ban. I think ppl should stop looking into this so much. Look at other sport like body building. You just have to look at the number of tests that are done on cyclist to the number of poistives.

You look at on average maybe 15000-20000 test on cyclists a year compared to 2000 to most other sports. The positives are very minimal. The only reason cycling attracts this is due to the high profiles of competitors.

Just take it when a professional cyclist gets a common cold he cant take anything for it. As what is in the medicine can make them go positive. I have been a cyclist for 15 years & have heard all this **** going on for the whole time. It is the little people that make this look like a big problem, WHEN, it really isnt.

Do you really want tax payers to pay for more tests. AT over $1000 a test I think it is crazy. For everyone you bust there will always be 3 or 4 more that are smart enough to get around these tests. It is the same as the blood testing prior to professional races. The test has not been perfected so they lump everyone into the 50% region. This is not fair either, but until they get a proper test it is all we have. My heomcit is 48. & I live in Sydney, & no I dont take EPO.

Well that is my 2 cents for the time being.

Cheers

One word: money.