Cycling coaches

IzzyG

Jan 14, 2006
Heya guys. I'm thinking of getting a cycling coach. I've been riding seriously for only 2 months and have seen a serious jump in performance. First time I rode, I had trouble keeping 13 mph for 10 miles. Now I average 19 mph for 30 miles and 17 mph for 45 miles. My training has been all over the place though and after experiencing collegiate racing, I'm hooked.

My question is, is it still too early for me to get a coach since I'm still only 2 months into training? I'm thinking that I could still make large gains on my own and should hire a coach only when I hit a plateau that I can't break. However, one of the Cat A riders in my team said that the first year or two is the most crucial in shaping habits and proper techniques/form. He said that coaching oneself can lead to hard to break problems later on. Being a personal trainer myself, I do know that training oneself can be a bad idea if you plan to be the best that you can. I don't intend to give up halfway and so a coach seems like a good idea. Any advice would be awesome.

Another question is, where can I find lists of coaches and such? I see a few online services and Carmichael's but it feels rather impersonal. Anyone tried such services? And what is the average prices for coaching services? Thanks in advance.

Izzy G.

If you haven't already, join a group ride and ask for help there. Just being in a group you will pick up many helpfull hints and who knows might even get someone with a lot of experience to help you on a regular basis.

Try joining a club. Our club here in Perth has training rides during the week whereby novices, kids alike join in and get help from the seasoned campaigners.

IzzyG said:
Another question is, where can I find lists of coaches and such? I see a few online services and Carmichael's but it feels rather impersonal. Anyone tried such services? And what is the average prices for coaching services? Thanks in advance.

Izzy G.