Cycling etiquette....

TheRedLantern

Oct 16, 2012
I am new to the world of cycling, and have been riding for about 5 months now.

I was out of my bike last night, and was overtaken by another cyclist who

1.had a better bike than me
2. had better gear than me
3.and mainly was going faster than I was...

So my brain malfunctioned and i decided i wanted to test myself and try and keep up with him - simultaneously i may have suddenly thought i was in the Tour but lets ignore that for now. So i caught up with him and tailed him. At first this was reasonable behaviour as there was no room to pass on a busy road, but then he kept going the way i was head... over the round about, a long a fairly long stretch of road and then finally and this is where is gets really stalky, we hit a fairly sizeable hill. I was still in fantasy world so i tailed him, not wanting to be dropped on the Alps of South Manchester - the faster he went, the more i tried. Eventually i turned off before things got too weird, but I pretty sure he told his wife about me when he got home.

My question is this, is acceptable to ever trail other cyclists on a route, or even a nod or wink to share the work efforts? take it in turns to lead... i think i know the answer but its worth a punt.

If you were tailed last night in the manchester area, please accept my sincere apologies.

Sam

There was a recent thread about this... search for "When a stranger wheelsucks".