Cycling in Lausanne, Switzerland

rtsy

Jul 30, 2003
Anyone on the board who have experienced cycling/living in Lausanne?

A lot of the stuff I read give me the impression that it's an extremely biker-friendly place but I still have a bunch of unanswered questions.

Can anyone recommend a nice group (real or virtual) to join for events there?

How about bike shops w/ good mechanics, any inputs?

How are bike stuff prices in Switzerland compared to U.S.?

Thanks!

BTW, I'm an absolute newbie w/ a stock Giant NRS3. I've ridden about 1,000km thus far.

rtsy,

Have you heard back from anyone? I'm also moving to Lausanne and would like to get a feel for how easy/safe it is for road riding there.

rtsy said:
Anyone on the board who have experienced cycling/living in Lausanne?

A lot of the stuff I read give me the impression that it's an extremely biker-friendly place but I still have a bunch of unanswered questions.

Can anyone recommend a nice group (real or virtual) to join for events there?

How about bike shops w/ good mechanics, any inputs?

How are bike stuff prices in Switzerland compared to U.S.?

Thanks!

BTW, I'm an absolute newbie w/ a stock Giant NRS3. I've ridden about 1,000km thus far.

I just moved to Singapore from Switzerland after nearly 5 years (2.5 in Montreux, 2.5 in Fribourg).

From all of my experiences, there are few places better in the world for cyclists than Switzerland. The lac leman area especially has some really fantastic riding.

As far as the shops are concerned, I know the Montreux, Vevey and Aigle area much better than I do Lausanne, though I've been to two shops in Lausanne and found them quite decent (both near the train station, on the road which heads down to Ouchy). If you do have a bit of mobility, try Sams bike store in La Tour de Peilz (between Vevey and Montreux) and Doms in Aigle. Aigle is where the UCI has its headquarters, and Doms works closely with them - its one of the top shops in CH.