Cycling noobie here, can sombody tell me if this road bike is any good.

hbyton

Feb 20, 2014
Hello,

This is my first post and to be honest I know nothing about bikes, however after being dissapointed with my mountin bike I thought that I would try a road bike because I have no intention of going off road and (they are faster?)

One bike that I was looking at was the Viking Treviso Road Bike, to me this bike looks good and it also has straight bars which I think I would prefer.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Viking-Treviso-Gents-Racing-Speed/dp/B00CH25ZHW

As I said before I am a complete novice so don't want to be spending too much money however I still want a good bike that will out perform a mountain bike in terms of speed, to me this bike is a little expensive so wondered if anybody could give a recommendation for a road bike (preferably straight bar with gears) for around the £250 mark?

A quick question about road bikes in general...
I know that you can only ride a road bike on the road (obviously) but I wondered how easy it is to actually damage the bike, how much would it matter If I accidentally went over a small pot hole or rode on a bad road?

Another one I have seen is this one
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TEMAN-21-SHIMANO-GEARS-ROAD-RACE-BIKE-BICYCLE-STRAIGHT-HANDLEBAR-/221367750638?pt=UK_Bikes_GL&var=&hash=item338a8bcfee

Both these bikes look nice in my opinion but I don't know if they are any good.

For a first bike on the cheap you might also look into something used locally over Chinese knockoffs. As for a little pothole or gravel roads you should be fine. Plenty if gravel grinders out there he'll I have done sine serious distance on 23 tires and gravel roads with no problems. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Not exactly a "road bike" as it has a flat handlebar and no brifters (shifter brake lever combination).