Cycling when older? probably not, right?

fiscem4

Sep 15, 2004
Hi all, I thought that I would share my story and ask for some advice, as many of you are much more accomplished cyclists than I.

I have, for much of my life been training and racing with the aim of going pro one day. When it came time to go to college I chose a college in the south and went, so that I could spend more time training in the warmth.

I am also a musician. I graduated at 18 from the Juilliard School and have decided that I want to be a professional musician. However, music school requires an extreme dedication. As my teachers put it "If you want to be a full time musician, you need to be a full time music student first". So, it seems that my serious training has been put on hold for the next four years.

I love the sport of cycling so much. My training partner recently signed with a team, which I suppose has sparked all of this. I guess what I need advice on is this: Am I going to be able to pick up my training again four years from now and cycle at an elite level? I get this uneasy feeling in the pit of my stomach every time I'm out on my bike knowing that it is something I want to be doing and cannot. Is it time to give up on lofty dreams and just accept a future as a purely recreational cyclist?

the sands of time are not kind to cyclists and id say that a neo pro of X ability will always be far more attractive to a team that a neo pro of X ability but 5-6 years older.

getting to the highest level requires years of consistent training so the prospect of taking even a year out could send you straight back to the beginning, starting again the lengthy process of development.

id say you have a hard choice to make. my angle - if at that level of cycling -would be to give it a real good crack of the whip, safe in the knowledge that the music is not so age critical, something to return to maybe.

do what you love most and the money will follow, as "they" say.

fiscem4 said: