Cyclocross as a touring bike???

noccer

Sep 12, 2007
Hello all,

I am a newbie here so go easy on me if i missed a similar thread anywhere but i couldnt see any from my searches...

I am from Dublin, Ireland and for 4 months will be cycling the East Coast of Australia in January 2009. Its a long way off yet but im starting my planning early none-the-less.

I have had my eye on the Specialized Tricross Sport as a possible bike to use for the tour, has anyone experienced a tour on a cyclocross before? I like this bike because of its wide range of gear ratios, bosses/eyelets for panniers, shifters, ample room for mudguards and because it generally seems to be built to take a bit of a pounding. My tour will be confined to paved roads, i wont be going off-road.

What would peoples take on this bike be? I cant seem to see any issues with it other than perhaps its weight (which i cant see listed anywhere by the way). Is it lighter/heavier than a typical touring bike?

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

The TriCross Sport is a decent bike, but if I were planning some extensive touring I would want a bike with better components than the Sport has. In that price range I would spend my money on a Kona Jake The Snake which is better outfitted throughout from top to bottom with Shimano 105 components, FSA MegaExo goodies, Avid brakes, solid Mavic Aksium wheels, and you're going to get pedals with the Kona. You get way more bang for the buck with the Kona.

Still another bike I'd take over the Sport is a Felt F1X, another better equipped bike for the money.

With either bike you'd trade the Sport's triple chainring crank for a double, but unless you're planning on spending a lot of time climbing steep hills that shouldn't be an issue. The rest of the trade-offs far outweigh that one.

Hope this helps!

thanks ilmooz,

i had a look at the jake the snake bike. very nice indeed! :D