Cyclocross bikes...

Nitrojan646

Aug 14, 2004
Hey! I'm new to the sport of cycling and I bought a book "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Cycling" (yeah yeah), I figured I better read up a little bit before I bought a bike. It says cyclocross bikes are very versatile, they can be used for touring, road, and light trails with some minor adjustments. Does anyone else have experience with this to verify? Anyone know of some good cyclocross bikes? Thanks!

Nitrojan646 said:
Hey! I'm new to the sport of cycling and I bought a book "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Cycling" (yeah yeah), I figured I better read up a little bit before I bought a bike. It says cyclocross bikes are very versatile, they can be used for touring, road, and light trails with some minor adjustments. Does anyone else have experience with this to verify? Anyone know of some good cyclocross bikes? Thanks!

I ride a Bianchi Axis. Very comfortable and strong. I think it would make a very versatile bike and it works great on light trails. Several styles of tires are offered and can be tailored to the style of riding you do the most. If I had to only have one bike it would probably be the cross bike.

txbuckeye said:
I ride a Bianchi Axis. Very comfortable and strong. I think it would make a very versatile bike and it works great on light trails. Several styles of tires are offered and can be tailored to the style of riding you do the most. If I had to only have one bike it would probably be the cross bike.
Ah, thanks for the help! I looked at the Bianchi site and the Volpe or the Axis both look like they would be able to suit my needs, its too bad there isn't a dealer around that sells Bianchi. Another thing that attracted me to a cyclocross bike are that they make a good year round ride, if anyone else has some ideas on a good bike for road and possibly touring and I can use year round, speak up!