dental student applying to medical school

Discussion in 'Health and medical' started by Bookworm, Feb 25, 2004.

1. Bookworm

Bookworm Guest

I'm currently a 2nd yr dental student wishing to apply to medical school for the 2004-2005
    application cycle. I intend to apply for first year MD programs ( will not apply for advanced
    standing ) and, if accepted, I will be starting my first year of medical school right before my 4rd
    yr of dental school. For personal reasons, I do not plan to apply to DO schools.

I had received a BS degree in engineering from a respected tier 1 private university. I ended up
    graduating with a 2.98 gpa overall and in science ( with about 4 W's, 2 D's, and 6 C's, with
    everything else being A's and B's ).

In dental school, I'm managing about a 2.7 gpa. My gpa is low but, then again, the dental curriculum
    is rigorous and has about 26-30 credits per term in sciences and dental labs. Also, all the basic
    science courses ( biochem, histo, cell bio, gross anatomy, etc. ) I took doesn't seem any different
    from those in med schools.

Given that I was able to come this far, I know and I am confident in myself that I can handle an MD
    curriculum.

I plan to take the MCAT this April. However, due to my dental courses, I cannot provide myself ample
    time to study for this exam. ( can't take it in August because my 3rd yr courses will begin in July
    and there will be no summer breaks ). I also don't remember much of undergrad physics/orgo and the
    MCAT's bio section seems somewhat different from the basic sciences I've been learning.

I realistically expect a 27-ish ( 9's across all sections ) score on my MCAT. Also, throughout the
    last 3 yrs, I was not able to hold any extracurriculars/volunteer experience because of my busy
    schedule in dental school. My dental profs will be writing my recs based on my 2.7 gpa, so I don't
    expect great letters.