deralleur for 6 cog cassette, old steel raleigh bike

marketcrash

Sep 3, 2012
hello, i am very new to road cycling having just purchased an old raleigh steel tube cycle from a friend. i decided i wanted to fix it up and see if i enjoy the sport and eventually buy a nicer bike. i would like to buy a new rear deralleur because the one on the bike seems to be not working extremely well. right now it has a shimano on it, but i cant see any other markings. i did some research and found that the shimano makes a 6 speed called the tourney, but i hear that it is not the best quality. i am i willing to pay more to get a mid range deralluer, but i need it to be able to fix my cassette. i have friction shifters so indexing shouldnt be a problem. does anyone know of any equipment i could purchase that would fulfull my needs?
thanks

Clean it, oil it, adjust it. Youtube and Parktools.com are your friends to figure out how.

I'd start with the post above unless your existing derailleur is simply rusted to pieces, bent or otherwise falling apart.

But if you really want a new derailleur then you can use just about any derailleur with friction shifters. Since you don't have indexing in your shifters you don't have to match up a specific rear derailleur. You can even run a 7,8,9,10 heck even 11 speed rear derailleur as long as you set the limit stop screws for the correct amount of total travel (so you don't shift into the spokes or off the small cog and into the dropout) but there's no issue with compatibility as long as you stay with friction shifting.

BTW, if you do change the rear derailleur and really even if you just clean up the system you should probably change out the cables and housings at the same time. Hard to say how the bike has been maintained but I'd probably change out all cables and housings (brakes as well as derailleurs), replace the brake pads and likely replace the tires and tubes for a bike of that vintage unless it's had regular and recent maintenance.