Derive max theorical FTP from VO2max.

midlife

Apr 5, 2009
Am I right to assume that for a given Vo2Max there is a theorical max FTP a subject could reach.

If so is there a table or a formula to ballpark this number ?

----

The reason I ask : I have a low measured VO2max (3.6 L/min) , I have been training for 13 months (the vo2 number was taken right before training started) . My FTP has been flat (250-260w) since june. Been doing SST, 2x20, 2x30, 5x5 5 days a week for the last 6 weeks on the Computrainer ... still no visible gains. I suspect I might be grinding the last possible ftp-watts for my relatively low O2 uptake (ie limited genetics)... I could also not be training right... or I could simply be impatient :eek:

This is all recreational. I want to see how much I can still gain if any. I enjoy the training.

A couple questions:
1) your numbers listed are all absolute values rather than being normalized to body size (L/min/kg and W/kg), so is it just your absolute metrics that are low, or are your relative metrics low as well?
2) wouldn't your VO2max have improved over the 13 months as well, or was that already a highly trained state when the measurement was taken?

Answer to your question is: no, there's no litteral derivation. There are thumbrules and ranges to bracket populations, but the actual relationship between VO2max and FTP still includes individual variation.

Well it's safe to say your FTP will never exceed your 3-5 minute MMP and there are published relationships between VO2 Max as a gas exchange rate and power similar durations so sure you could say your FTP will never exceed the power (min/max) required to elicit VO2 Max.

There are a couple of problems:

- There is no single power that elicits VO2 Max, but there's certainly a small range of powers that will get you to VO2 Max gas exchange rates in say 3 minutes or a lower power that will get you there in 4 or 5 minutes.