Developments regarding pelvic tilt

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Callas

I saw a consultant orthapaedic surgeon a few days ago, after a fourteen week wait.

In a nutshell, the result is; the pelvic tilt is due to the residual post-operation scoliosis and is
uncorrectable. (I have a 14 degree primary curve in the upper spine, which leads to a sympathetic
curve in the lumber region, which leads to the pelvic tilt.)

However, the discussion we had has given me a new idea or two.

First, I experimented to see if I could properly detect the difference in effective leg length while
seated on my bike. I sat as I would normally, except without shoes and with the pedals out of the
way. The bike is resting on a trainer, so there are a pair of parallel plastic bars under the bike,
one each side, which I can easily rest my feet against, when I stretch my legs and feet down to
reach the ground.

I then slowly slid my feet backwards, keeping them level, until the big toe was just reaching the
ground. I found that when my left big toe was just reaching the ground, my right big toe was
distinctly off the ground.

So, I had positively found a real difference in effective leg length through a simple experiment.
Had a friend been with me, it would have been easy to measure the difference in length.

Next, I experimented with deliberately tilting my pelvis to compensate.

This required me to use my muscles to lift the left side until my feet reached the ground equally.
This takes a moderate constant effort.

The problems here are that it requires this specific effort (which presumably would become easier
with time, from practise), that it seems to inhibit breathing somewhat (or perhaps enhances it, and
the feeling is unfamilar?) and finally, that it moves my torso off of the center line of the bike,
over to the right.

The advantage (the blessed advantage!) is that both legs are now *right*. Halleluah!