Diesel Engines

Discussion in 'Your Bloody Soap Box' started by Carrera, Feb 14, 2006.

1. Carrera

Carrera New Member

Just thought I'd ask how many folks on the forum know about diesel engines as I'm currently studying the diesel due to the fact my boat has one. Not just that but I'm studying boat electrics too.
    I'm thinking about buying a used diesel from the scrap yard so I can take it to bits and mess about with it somewhat.

Tags:

2. stevebaby

stevebaby New Member

Save your money,there will be plenty of other things to spend it on,boat-wise.An engine from a scrapyard is probably there for a good reason.If you want to replace the engine(a difficult and expensive proposition,usually),look around for an old Gardner.Not really worth it unless you plan to keep the boat though.
    Most problems with diesel engines result from dirty injectors caused by dirty fuel and fuel tanks,air leaks or electrical faults.They are usually easier to diagnose in a diesel than a petrol engine.
    What sort of problems are you having? Cranks but won't start,won't crank at all,starts but misfires,starts but overheats?

3. EoinC

EoinC New Member

SB is correct, Carrera. Better to spend your money on fixing your boat than buying an old diesel engine just to pull it down and have a look. What engine is in your tub? Has it ever been running since you got it? If it's been sitting there a long time without running, I advise you to change out the fuel and the fuel filter/s before going too far. The injectors and fuel pump will love you for it (if they are still in functioning condition).
    Diesels are pretty simple to work on, but diagnosis comes first.

4. Dondare

Dondare New Member

He won't tell you.

5. Carrera

Carrera New Member