diet / riding techniques for muscle/weight gain

gman0482

Aug 13, 2009
I am currently riding almost everyday and trying to get some strength and muscle into my legs (ASAP). The only thing is I am very slim (legs like sticks) and don't eat right at all. I was wondering whats the best way to eat, and what are some riding techniques to build up muscle and strength.

Thank you,

-Greg

I've had the 'thin leg syndrome' myself just about my entire life, but that has changed since I started riding on the roads. One thing that helps me is that when I get back from a ride, I'll drink a protein shake to help any overworked muscles repair themselves. Cycling in general - especially on the road - is more of an endurance activity than a strength activity so if you overdo it, you won't gain much strength but your endurance will improve.

First I have to ask, if you are a serious cyclist why do you want to gain weight?

You can become stronger without adding a lot of mass. Riding everyday is counter productive to gaining strength. You need to recover. Recovery from training is most important. Keys to recovery are great nutrition, great rest and great hydration.

Nutrition- Can't recovery without good protein intake. About 1-1.25 grams per pound of lean body mass should do it. So if you weigh (for example) 150lbs. and you are 8% bodyfat you should try to consume between 138-172 grams of protein throughout the day or about 34.5 grams a meal at 5 meals a day. Try and eat about 121 grams of carbs preferably from fruits and veggies and 54 grams of fat from naturally occurring fats in protein sources and mono-unsaturated sources like tree nuts and avocados, etc... Try to maintain a good base level by eating alkaline foods with acidic foods.

Rest- Break your rides up with rest days. There is lots of literature and information on training programs. Deep tissue massage on the evening before or the morning of a rest day can add up to 24 hrs. of circulation in one 60min. session.