dieting advice

jonathandanger

Jun 23, 2007
I am looking for advice on a good diet, both for decent results and weight loss.

Let me start with a little information. I am 20 years old, 5'7," 150-155 lbs in the morning. I have tested my body fat on a machine at a gym recently... not sure how accurate it is, but it said 13.5%. I used to weigh a little over 160, but I was placed on a ritalin prescription a couple months ago and have lost weight. I am still fairly new to the sport, but I race category 5 with no real training program. I feel that I am not achieving my potential, and I would like to start a smarter training program for next season and maybe make the move to category 4. Right now, I am a little lazy, fairly stressed out, and very busy with school work, so I'm only riding between 50 and 100 miles every week. I don't make much money, and I live in campus housing where cooking my own food is almost out of the question. I don't drink a whole lot of beer, usually 6 a week or less. I work at a pizza place and take full advantage of free pasta. Otherwise, I eat a lot of bananas and taco bell. I used to avoid soft drinks, but I have started drinking them again recently. I know I should quit, but they are cheap calories, and the stress of school makes it harder to maintain a good diet.

My goal is to lose 5 to 10 pounds over the winter when I can afford the accompanying performance drop that comes with a calorie deficit, and then start eating the right food for spring endurance training.

Does anyone have any advice on how much food I should be eating, and what kind of food would be best? Keep in mind I'm pretty poor and eating like a cyclist puts a strain on my wallet.

Drop the soda pop and drink water. You can eat pasta just determine how much you are eating now and cut it by 25 percent or so.
Try training on an empty stomach. This will not only burn fat but teach your body to more effeciently use energy.