Difference between PT unit and CyclingPeaks

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by bigbevans, Jan 13, 2006.

  1. bigbevans

    bigbevans New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just download my ride and noticed the average power in CyclingPeaks is 166 watts, but my unit shows 173 watts :confused:
     
    Tags:


  2. RapDaddyo

    RapDaddyo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    41
    What averaging interval do you have your PT computer set up for (spec is in one of the Setup pages)? I've never looked for a total ride AP in the PT computer. Is there a total ride AP?
     
  3. bigbevans

    bigbevans New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the display of power set to 10 secs. Maybe this has something to do with it. Average power on the PT unit is the top option which shows either max av or current power
     
  4. RapDaddyo

    RapDaddyo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    41
    The averaging setting only affects current power. It should not affect average power. But, what will affect AP is what you specified in SETUP 3 - option 1: "select YES or NO for zeros included in averaging of watts." This setting has nothing to do with the data stored for download, but only affects the averaging algorithm in the PT computer. Do you have it set up to include zeros?
     
  5. bigbevans

    bigbevans New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aaah. I have it set to No. OK that'll explain it. Thanks.
     
  6. RapDaddyo

    RapDaddyo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    41
    That setting should be labeled, "Ego Booster!"
     
Loading...
Loading...