Difficulty gripping brake hoods on road bike

timh

Apr 20, 2003
Hi,

I've recently taken up road bike riding, and I've been riding a Giant TCR 2 for about 6 months. Generally the bike fitting is no problem, and I have done a number of long rides without pain in the knees or back, or numb hands etc.

One problem I am trying to solve is that I do not find gripping the brake hoods as the most comfortable position for cruising. If I grip the brake hoods then I find I am putting too much pressure on the area between my thumb and 1st finger, also the wrist tends to want to slide off to the outside.

My most comfortable grip position is slightly back from the brake hoods so that the wrist is resting on the curved part of the upper bar. This means I have to move my hands forward if I need to brake.

Also, if I do grip the brake hoods for extensive periods, I get a small amount of lower back ache, which is relieved almost instantly by moving my hands back to the position described above.

I do wear riding gloves.

I have had numerous suggestions as to what might be causing my problem including:
* My hands are smaller than average.
* I am just not flexible enough.
* My handle bar is too low. Low handle bars seem to be especially pronounced on the Giant bikes due to their different frame geometry. I've tried reversing the stem extension to raise the handle bars a bit but it doesn't solve the problem. I've also tried the next size up of frame (to get the handle bars up a bit) but this didn't really solve it either.
* Bar angle is wrong. I've tried numerous angles without success.
* Bar width is wrong.
* Stem extension is too long.

Any suggestions would be welcome.