Difficulty reaching target heart rate

TiMan

Sep 29, 2003
Lately I am having a hard time reaching my target heart rate for Lactate threshold training and intervals. My effort is high but my heart rate is lower than normal....whats up with this? It seems that my maximum heart rate has dropped making for a lower heart rate at all intensity levels.

Thanx

Originally posted by TiMan
Lately I am having a hard time reaching my target heart rate for Lactate threshold training and intervals. My effort is high but my heart rate is lower than normal....whats up with this? It seems that my maximum heart rate has dropped making for a lower heart rate at all intensity levels.

Thanx

i started riding harder& longer the last 3 months been riding
4 yrs. 3 months ago my max was 183 now i cant get over 178.
so as you get fitter your max will probaly drop a little.
if thats not your case you may be over training.

I don't actually think my max heart rate has dropped...I was just saying that to make a point. In fact I don't think ones max heart rate actually drops as one gets super fit, although I could be wrong here.

The issue is high preceived effort and low heart rate.

I have to really work to get my heart rate 160-162 (LT intensity for me). That same effort a while back had my heart rate about 170. I can't seems to get my heart rate to 170(interval rate for me) unless I almost kill myself.

The only thing I can attribute this to is perhaps over training but damn it I am always so careful in this regard.

I don't actually think my max heart rate has dropped...I was just saying that to make a point. In fact I don't think ones max heart rate actually drops as one gets super fit, although I could be wrong here.

The issue is high preceived effort and low heart rate.